daisypatchdesigns

Custom order: Newborn hat

Posted on: January 15, 2011

I placed an ad on Kijiji sometime before Christmas and got a few “bites”.  A photographer contacted me to make a few props for her to use in her studio.

She sent me some photos of what she was looking for and it was a bit of a challenge for me to find patterns to replicate the designs.  In the end, I made up my own pattern using the following info I found online and in knitting books.

For the stitch pattern, I used the stitch glossary found here.  The stitch pattern I used is called Hourglass Eyelet. 

Then, I took out a pile of books from the library and found a basic pattern for a baby hat.  What I needed was a basic pattern in which I could integrate my knitting pattern and decrease the stitches to make the hat.

I cast on 73 stitches and knit 4″ of pattern.  Then came the tricky part.  I tried to decrease according to the pattern I had but then the pattern go all wonky.  So I found this great online calculator Here that helped me figure out how to decrease in a balanced way in the pattern.

However, I still had to “read” my knitting to figure out how to decrease it and not have my knitting look weird.  It was quite a challenge.  I tried to write down what I was doing, but in the end, I simply improvised as I went along.  I’m not sure if I could replicate this again…I’ll have to try to knit a similar hat and figure out what I did. LOL

The end result, in my opinion, is pretty close to what she was looking to get.  I hope she likes it. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

