daisypatchdesigns

The joys and gambles of knitting for my young children

Posted on: January 23, 2011

Even before my son was born, I started knitting baby sweaters for him.  He had a whole collection going by the time he decided to make his appearance.  Once he got older, I bought this great book called Animal knits for Children and knit him a nice turquoise blue sweater with a tiger on the front.

For my daughter, I knit her a fish sweater with matching fish buttons.  Well, it took me a year to complete it.  By the time I got to the sleeves, I decided to make them striped instead of continuing the fish pattern.  In the end, I was lucky it fit her when I was done.:P  She still wears it but it is a bit short in the sleeves.

For next time, I will make sure that I knit the largest size, especially if it is an intricate pattern. LOL

I’m lucky because for the time being, my children enjoy wearing what I make for them.  Hopefully that will continue in the years to come, provided I can find patterns that they like!

Leave a Reply

