daisypatchdesigns

The Home Stretch: Baby set update

Posted on: February 10, 2011

I did it!  I finished the booties, the mitts and the hat!  I hope my sister will be pleased.  I will package it up and send it off with my mother, who is heading out to Montréal on Friday to see her.

Seeing as I wasn’t sure whether or not it was a boy or a girl when I first started, I decided to use green and yellow stripes on the hat. I’ve been wanting to make an elfin hat for quite a while.  I love the tassle on the end of it!

To change things up a bit, I decided to change the stitch pattern and the colours on the mittens.  The cuff is knit in a garter stitch and the rest of the mitt is knit on the front and P1K1 on the reverse side.

And, for the pièce de résistance: the booties!  I am so happy that I got to make the mary-jane style booties and add the cute Hello-Kitty buttons with the yellow buttons.  I have lots more that I plan on adding to the sweater to tie everything together.  For this set, I knit using both colours together to create a reflection of green and yellow throughout the booties.  It may be a bit hard to tell from the photos…depending on where the light hits and the angle you are looking at the booties, they appear yellow with shades of green or vice-versa.

Leave a Reply

