daisypatchdesigns

My mother’s buttons: A walk down memory lane

Posted on: February 23, 2011

I am always on the lookout for nice buttons. I find that a special button adds a nice finishing touch to a hand-knit sweater and a bit of interest to pieces that might otherwise look boring.  For example, last year, I knit a sweater for my daughter that had a fish pattern in it and found these great fish buttons to match.  It just made the sweater even cuter and she loved those little buttons.

A few days ago, I asked my mother to borrow her two canisters of buttons so that I could through them and pick some out for my projects.  It sure brought back memories of being a kid and looking at all these great buttons.  Some of them came of one of her coats, some of them were left over from little outfits she used to sew for us, some were from my grandmother…I guess most of them would now be considered “vintage”.

Who knew that you could get so emotionally attached to buttons?  I really want to use some in my projects but at the same time, I feel really attached to these buttons!

However, I figure that these buttons have been waiting for the perfect project to infuse a bit a life into something that otherwise might be very boring.  They have been waiting for a new lease in life for a long while. 

I truly enjoy looking at this button collection because they bring back so many memories from my childhood.  I’ll just have to find the courage to use them to pass them on to someone else who will enjoy them just as much.

Leave a Reply

