daisypatchdesigns

International Women’s Day: 100th anniversary

Posted on: March 4, 2011

For those of you who know me well, you know that I am very involved in  the women’s movement…I wanted to reflect on what it means to be a woman in the 21st century. 

My generation really feels like we can do it all and have it all, thanks to our mothers who pushed the boundries and instigated so much change. 

However, it’s not always easy to balance a career, motherhood, mariage and housekeeping…Sometimes, I wonder if as women, we are trying to do too much. 

In this era of Martha Stewart and acheiving perfection in every aspect of our lives, I think we need to let ourselves just “be” and let go of all this pressure we put on ourselves to be the perfectly put together mother, wife, employee and friend. We are very demanding on ourselves and often compare ourselves to others around us.

It’s okay to let things slide.  It’s okay to just “be”.  Who you are is good enough.

Ultimately, your kids won’t remember whether or not the house was impecably clean but they will remember laughing hysterically when their mother falls into the snowbank.  They’ll remember stirring the soup with you in the kitchen and dancing in the living room among the piles of folded laundry.

To all the women (and the men who love them) who are reading this blog, I wish you all a wonderful Women’s Day. 

To all the women I lean on, thanks for being there.  You are all truly wonderful!

Leave a comment