daisypatchdesigns

Breaking new ground: my first experiment with felting

Posted on: March 22, 2011

I’ve been pondering quite a while about felting.  Felting is a process where you take a knitted item and run it through hot water to make a dense fabric.  In order to acheive this, you must use pure wool otherwise, the fabric won’t felt.

I was very curious to try it out and had a some pure virgin wool on hand that I had bought at the estate sale.  I had a pattern for a knit purse.  I used very large circular needles (12.5mm) and here’s what I ended up with:

Then, I put it into a small cloth bag, pinned the bag shut and ran it in my washer through the longest and hottest cycle I had which was 79 minutes.  And then, I ran it again.  And again.  And again. And again.  It ended up being about six times.  Along the way, I decided that I would knit a flower to stitch on it and had to felt that also so that it looked cohesive.

Here is my final product.  I will add a lining to this purse before listing in my Etsy shop.  It can be yours for only $60.  (Hey, I gotta recoup my hot water! LOL)

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

