daisypatchdesigns

Living on the Wild Side…Making Playdough…On a School Night (!)

Posted on: April 13, 2011

Perhaps I am feeling more daring as a mother these days. Well, tonight, even though it is supposedly spring, it was very chilly (-2C). We ate supper early because my husband had appointment at 6 p.m. and so we were finished eating by 6:20. Hum, there was lots time in the evening left and I didn’t want my son to play on his DS all evening.

So, I decided to make playdough with my daughter. My mom used to make it all the time when we were kids. It’s a pretty straightforward recipe; although when I was on mat leave, I watched Conan O’Brien burn playdough over the stove on the Martha Stewart show. Don’t ask me how he acheived that but boy was Martha annoyed with him.

So here’s the recipe I used:
2 cups flour
1 cup salt
1 tbsp oil
1 tsp cream of tartar
2 cups water
food colouring

Combine all the ingredients in the saucepan except for the food colouring. Once it is mixed together, mix in the food colouring. Heat over medium high heat until it thickens, stirring constantly to avoid burning.

I got my daughter to pour in the ingredients and then I took care of the rest. Seeing as I couldn’t find the cookies cutters, I pulled out my potato masher, my meat tenderizer, a toy rolling pin and a couple of toys with a bit of texture to them to make tracks in the playdough.

When we started playing with it, it was still warm. Of course, my daughter had to taste it but from what I remember as a kid, it is quite a salty mixture. I could feel the salt on my hands, just like when I was a kid.

What fun! We even had time to fit in a quick bath and the little ones were in bed by 8 p.m. (not asleep mind you, but hey, you can’t have everything, can you?)

Leave a Reply

