daisypatchdesigns

Keeping it together: the Greatest Illusion

Posted on: April 17, 2011

On Friday, I met two of my girlfriends for lunch whom I hadn’t seen in a while.  I met these two women through our kids at daycare and we started socializing shortly after we met.  It’s fun because we have kids that are the same age and that get along well.

However, as many parents can attest to, it is really hard to fit in a conversation during a playdate.  So, we decided to hold our own playdates. 😉  We try to meet every 6 weeks or so but it’s very tricky to coordinate, as one of my friends does the morning show at a local radio station and my sister in-law just went back to work.  (She was on a business trip last week).  We try to juggle our schedules but it doesn’t always work.

During our lunch conversation, one of my friends said she didn’t feel like a mom at times because she didn’t have it “together”. Well,  I set the record straight: none of us have it “together”.  I repeat: none of us! 

I think if we start cutting ourselves a bit of slack and admit to this fact, we’ll feel liberated from the pressures of keeping a perfect house, being a perfect cook, perfect mother, wife, worker, etc.  This is the greatest disfavour we are doing to each other, that is trying to make it seem like we have it all together.  We all have good days and bad days and we truly all do the best we can.

I’ve been reading this book on and off for the past few months (whenever I can fit it in LOL) called “Life is too Short to Fold Fitted Sheets”.  Enough said! 😉

Leave a Reply

