daisypatchdesigns

Picking or throwing: huh?

Posted on: April 19, 2011

I recently have become an avid collector of knitting books.  I read about “picking” vs. “throwing” aka English vs. Continental knitting.  From what I gathered, I am an English knitter, which stands to reason because I live in Canada (haha).  Although I am of French-Canadian descent, my maternal grandmother is of English descent.  She taught my mother how to knit and my mother taught me…

For those of you who have no clue what I am talking about, it’s the difference between holding your yarn in your right hand and winding it around the needle (English knitting – throwing) and holding your yarn in your left hand and picking it up with your needle instead of winding it (Continental knitting – picking).

Here is an article from Knitting Daily that explains it, complete with photos.  It says you should try to learn “the other way”…hum, in my opinion, that would be like trying to re-learn how to write with my right hand (because I’m a lefty).  I don’t know if I could do that…

2 Responses to "Picking or throwing: huh?"

Learning a different technique from the one you are used to is always difficult.

Yes, it sure is. I guess it’s good for your left-right brain connection but I don’t think I should try it in the middle of a tricky project. LOL

Leave a Reply

