daisypatchdesigns

Etsy sales: still waiting…

Posted on: April 25, 2011

I have been working at listing items on Etsy since September last year and I’m still waiting for my first sale…Sometimes I feel a bit discouraged but I have been trying different approaches to see if anything will trigger that first sale.

1.  Listing a new item every day.  Sometimes it’s a new item, sometimes it’s just a relist of an item that was expired.  It is helping the views a bit but at times it’s feeling like it’s lots of work.  I’m hoping it will be paying off soon.

2.  Improving my photos:  I finally figured out what the best set up was to take good and well lit photos.  I was taking photos in my basement with a lamp shining on my items, however, the photos were still coming out quite dark.  I tried taking some photos in my dining room during the daylight hours on the weekend and it seemed to make a  huge difference.  It’s tricky to find time to do this with two little kids around but now that spring is here, the daylight hours are longer.  Let’s face it, the only free time I have is when the kids are in bed…

3.  Promoting on Facebook, Twitter and this blog.  I recently held a giveaway on Facebook to attract more fans.  Once you get 25 “Likes” on your page, your page becomes “official”.  This seems to have worked well.  I also published my listing on my Facebook page yesterday and when I checked this morning, I had 20 views!!!  Quite exciting!  🙂

That’s it for now.  It’s hard to find time to focus on growing my micro-business but I’m hoping that the more time I put into it, the more I’ll get out of it.  It’s also great to be part of the Winnipeg street team because there are lots of experienced people that are there to help as well.

Leave a Reply

