daisypatchdesigns

A basket for my bicycle

Posted on: April 28, 2011

Now that the weather has finally turned to spring, I’ve taken out my bicycle and trailer and I’m cycling around with my kids in tow.  When I have both of the kids in the trailer, it gets to be quite a workout!  Especially up the “hill” coming back from my parents.  Okay, calling it a hill is probably an overstatement but it sure feels that way with about 60 lbs in the back.  I’ve trained my kids to encourage me by chearing me on when we get to the hill: “Maman!Maman!Maman!” and so far, I can make it up 2/3 of the way.  My objective by June is to be able to make it up without having to stop.  (I think I can, I think I can.)

I have another bicycle that I use to go to work that is more of a commuter style bicycle.  I don’t have any paniers for it, but I was thinking of knitting the basket that is on the front cover of “Knitting Green” by Ann Budd. 

Here’s a preview of the basket I want to make.   

I bought some twine at Canadian Tire.  I tried to match it but they don’t give lot numbers on twine, go figure!  I’m anticipating that it will be a bit rough to knit but I hope the end result will be nice. 

I’m not sure if I want to add the handles, although the design includes some clips that you can clip onto your handlebars.  Perhaps I could adapt it so that I can use it on the back of my back instead of the front, although it wouldn’t be very handy to have something open where you can’t see if something falls out.  Hum…I’ll have to think about that one.

I’ll have to track down some oil cloth for the lining.  I work close to Mitchell Fabrics so I’ll pop in there at lunch to see if I can find oilcloth there.  If there is some in the city, that’ll be the place…If anyone has any leads on where to find oilcloth, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

