daisypatchdesigns

E-readers for knitting: good idea or bad idea?

Posted on: May 6, 2011

I’ve read that some knitters have e-readers that they use for downloading and reading knitting patterns.  Personally, I don’t own an e-reader although it does seem like a good way to cut down on paper…Currently, I either use patterns from books or surf the Internet and print off the patterns I want to use.

There is something to be said for holding a book in your hands, but there is also something to be said for an easier organizational system.  However, I find it really handy to be able to write something down on the pattern or to put a post it next to the row where I stopped knitting (especially when knitting in the row because I don’t always use a row counter).  I’m not sure if there would be a way to keep your place with an e-reader…

On occasion, I also like to work from two different patterns, taking parts of what I want from one and applying it to the other.

I’m also the type of person who only reads a book once, so getting an e-reader for that purpose could also cut down on the cost of buying books.  That being said though, I’m not a very “gadgety” person.  I don’t feel the need to get every gadget under the sun, but I could be swayed. 😉

Does anyone use an e-reader for knitting?  If so, what are your thoughts?

Tags:

2 Responses to "E-readers for knitting: good idea or bad idea?"

I was thinking about getting an E-reader for my patterns and had those same questions, too. It will be interesting to read what others have to say.

Yes, I can’t wait to see what others will say.

Leave a Reply

