daisypatchdesigns

Spring Fever: gardening

Posted on: May 9, 2011

My son has recently mastered the skill of riding his bicycle without training wheels.  Seeing as the weather was beautiful yesterday, I decided to go for a bike ride with the kids and try to find the community garden plot that we will be renting this summer.

It was a good 15 minute ride to get to the park and we spent quite a while riding around to find the space we were allocated.  Just before we decided to give up and head home, we found it!!!

Our garden space is about 10X10.  One of my coworkers had it last year, but he moved away to Quebec for the year and asked the organizers if we could have it.  

My kids were so excited, even though there were mostly weeds and dead plants that needed to be cleaned out.  We did find a nice surprise, though.  There was a row of spinach that was coming up and a tiny bit of parsley.  Seems like there are a few rabbits who snack on things as there were two gardens surrounded by chicken wire…   

My daughter had so much fun that it was hard to get her back in the bike trailer.  My son discovered the compost piles and had the greatest fun throwing in the dead tomato plants. 

My husband and I made a list of what we want to plant and now I have to figure out what I want to plant at home and what I will plant in that garden.  I plant in containers and a raised bed at home.  Seeing as space is at a premium, I’ve been using the square foot gardening method.  So far, it’s worked well, although one of my husband’s friends’ mother who was visiting from Africa thought my tiny garden was the funniest thing she had ever seen.

I have visions of lush plants all over my yard…We’ll see how it goes because keeping all that up is not easy with two little kids, limited time and a limited budget. I will definitely post pictures as things progress throughout the summer.  😉

Leave a Reply

