daisypatchdesigns

Crochet: it’s all coming back to me, now

Posted on: May 12, 2011

I bit the bullet and decided to try my hand at crocheting (again).  I learned to crochet when I was about 10 or 12, perhaps even before learning to knit.  When I was pregnant with my first child, I really got into knitting.  There are so many cute baby sweaters to make and there is so much time to do that before you have kids, right? (That’s a whole other blog post, LOL).

Anyhow, I was interested in giving crochet another shot, after not having done it in years.  When I was at the library last weekend with my kids, I took a book called Crochet Essentials (I had to be quick because my daughter was climbing in the shelves…LOL).  Turns out the book had a great pattern for a messenger-type bag made out of granny squares.  It took me all week to finish it and I’m quite happy with the result.  I must admit that I don’t enjoy crocheting as much as knitting because you constantly have to look at your work and can’t easily watch tv while crocheting (at least not me).

I still have to put in a lining but I think it turned out great.  The colours are bright and it looks a bit retro with the granny squares.  I would see a young tween using it or a women who is playful and full of whimsy.

Here are some pictures.  I decided not to line the bag.

Leave a Reply

