daisypatchdesigns

Seasonal crafting: knitting in winter and sewing in summer?

Posted on: June 18, 2011

Just like there is a movement toward eating food in season, it feels like there are also seasons to crafting.  It is hard to be motivated to knit with wool when the temperature rises.  Knitting with cotton yarn is not so bad, but these days, I’m more interested than anything else in sewing.

As a child of the late 70’s, my mother sewed all our clothes.  I remember sitting in her sewing room and watching her foot go up and down on the pedal and listening to the whirr of the Singer sewing machine.  She has a beautiful antique sewing table with the metal pedal on the bottom that was used to sew with antique machines.  We used to have great fun pumping it up and down and squishing our hands or feet underneath by accident. 

Later, I remember learning to sew from her and at school.  In our sewing class, we used to get “speeding tickets” if we zoomed through too fast.   I don’t think I ever got one, but then I may have a slightly selective memory…

So, now, I found a few cool patterns on the internet that I tried out.  I made a Pillowcase dress from 3 fat quarters from favecrafts.  I found 3 fat quarters at Walmart for $2 each…not bad for a toddler girl’s sundress!  I even figured out how to make the bias tape that was included in the pattern.   I don’t have a picture of my daughter in her dress but here’s the photo from the website:

Pillowcase Dress

I also made the 5 minute skirt found on Angry Chicken’s blog.  However, when I went to Mitchell Fabrics (a Winnipeg Institution), the staff didn’t seem to know what fold over elastic was…perhaps it is called something else in the sewing world?  So, the skirt is not quite done because I bought underwear elastic that did not do the trick.  I did, however, find a gorgeous African print fabric that even impressed my husband.  🙂

I’ll try to post pictures of my skirt and my daughter’s dress.  In the meantime, I want to make this Girl\’s Braided Dress for my daughter.  I’ll just have to try and find a bit of time…

Girl's Braided Dress

2 Responses to "Seasonal crafting: knitting in winter and sewing in summer?"

Hey, my mother did the same! She sewn all of our clothes with her sewing machine. Hers was Butterfly. It’s black and every time it’s broken, my mother could fix it herself. And I distinctly remember when my foot got caught under the pedal and got bruised. I limped for several days, lol!

I think fabric was less expensive in those days. She was (and still is) a fabulous sewer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

