daisypatchdesigns

Rainy days: keeping kids busy

Posted on: June 23, 2011

Summer is finally upon us.  So far, it’s been a mix of gorgeous sunny days and cold rainy ones.  I anticipate that this is what our summer will look like.  I started thinking about things to keep my kids busy and to get them to stop watching tv.  This may prove to be a challenge seeing my husband is leaving for Africa for a month to attend his sister’s wedding but I figure that if I’m prepared, it should be okay (famous last words – LOL).

Keeping in mind that I have a 5 year old and a 2 year old with different levels of abilities, here are my top picks:

  • playdough
  • helping to bake something
  • drawing, colouring, using stickers
  • “painting” with bingo dabbers
  • painting and decorating rocks with poster paints
  • visiting the library

During my daughter’s naptime, I will have more flexibility to do more involved crafts with my son.  I love picking up craft kits from the dollar store.  I found lots of great ones last year in anticipation of going to the cottage.  He is hooked on making God’s Eyes so I think more of these are in our future. 😉

So what do you do to keep your kids busy on rainy days?

 

 

Leave a Reply

